Continental or not….

Well, knitters, as I’ve been reading and researching in order to cast on for the first project, the moccasin socks, I’ve been debating with myself. Do I knit all of the projects with the Continental style of knitting (or German style) as EZ did or should I stick to my normal mode of knitting, the English style.

I am sooooo torn. I do use both methods when I am knitting anything with more than one color but I am most “happy”, so to speak, with the English style of knitting.

This past week I was working on a pair of socks and I told myself, “Now, only knit continental and see what you think.” So I did. While I almost convinced myself that I was “happy” knitting continental I could feel that I never fully relaxed and enjoyed the process of knitting.

Can you imagine a whole book of projects and not being relaxed or finding enjoyment while knitting them? The thought of it daunts me. “No,” I thought, “I already have enough tense things in my life. I need this to be a bit of an escape.”

So, my friends, despite the fact that possibly I should knit continental to do all of EZ’s projects in “Knitting Around,” I am not going to. I will use the Continental and English styles of knitting when I work a stranded piece and otherwise stick to my cozy, comforting style of knitting.

How do you all knit? Continental or English?

8 Responses

  1. I am a self-taught knitter. I first learned English, then taught myself continental for stranded colorwork. The ergonomics are obviously superior, but like you, I found it uncomfortable at first. So I did a few very simple, mostly stocking stitch projects and now it’s very natural to me. But really, I think you should do what is most comfortable for you. (I’m not ambidextrous, but I am more comfortable than most people in using my weak, left side for specific tasks, so this was a natural extension of that for me.)

  2. I doubt the woman who wrote Knitting without Tears would advise you to knit continental just because that’s the way she does it. As opinionated as she was she’d probably tell you to knit the way you feel is the most comfortable. If you still want to tip your hat at Continental maybe you could pick a project to be your “Continental Challenge”.

  3. I agree. EZ would want you to use whichever method makes you comfortable & happy. She talks about it in her DVDs, “Knitting Workshop”. I’m still not through them.

    Those sour ladies you met when you were 16 missed out on so much joy & blessings of passing on their knowledge to the younger ones. Sad & really it’s shameful.

    No, I’ll not be joining your Ravelry group. I’ve plenty to knit now & my knitting time is limited. But I wish you well. It does sound interesting & fun. I’m glad you’re being flexible in your time frame. With a little one, you sure don’t need more stresses on you or your time. My little ones are 24 & 20 now. I cherish all the good memories of them growing up. The little ones come first.

    Have fun!!

  4. Oh yeah! I knit English.

  5. As a rather sickly child and in the day when strep throat meant staying on the couch for a full week, my mom was constantly looking for ways to keep me occupied. She bought me a Learn to Knit kit when I was 9 years old. I did teach myself to knit and the instructions in the kit seemed so uncomfortable to me that my self taught inclination turned out to be “Continental”. It wasn’t for many years til I knew it was different from most everyone else.
    As they say, “Do your own thing”.

  6. Dear EZ and Barbara Walker taught me how to knit. And though I have become proficient in both methods, I prefer to work Continental style. To me it is more efficient and expedious.

  7. I knit continental. This is the way my mum used to knit and I taught myself knitting this way basing on my memory. I feel very comfortable with this method- I havetried several times to learn English method but it was disaster. My fingers just can’t get on well with the yarn and needles when I try knit English way. I spoke to one experienced knitter about it and she said we shouldn’t force ourselves to knit the way we are not used to. If you love knitting English way- stick to it. In the end knitting is all about joy and pleasure and not about getting upset and losing your patience (that’s what happenes to me when I try to knit English 😉 ).

    Beautiful blog; I will follow.
    Many good wishes,
    Kasia

  8. I’m late to the party but will join in anyway! I learned English from my grandmother when I was about nine, I think, but it always felt awkward and slow – inefficient somehow, with all that throwing. Then when I was about 13 or 14 my dad’s wife learned to knit in the continental method & discovered EZ’s Knitting Workshop. She passed them on to me and I have never looked back! I’m a German knitter through and through, though knowing how to knit in the English method is convenient for colour stranding.

Leave a Reply

