Reading…

10:30 Saturday night found me tucked into bed with our cozy down comforter piled on top of me and a stack of Elizabeth Zimmermann books beside me. Baby was sleeping somewhat peacefully in his little room (he is battling his first cough) and the Dear Husband was typing away in the office (he had his final paper to write).

Although I’ll be working only from the book  Knitting Around, I wanted to to see of EZ wrote about Moccasin Socks anywhere else. Sure enough, The Knitter’s Almanac, page 119 has a vivid description of what I am  going to cast on in January. The entry seems to have been written at the time Elizabeth discovered how to make Moccasin Socks or as she also calls them in the chapter, “refootable socks” You’ve got to read the chapter if you have the book. Her excitement over this new pattern is palpable. It made me want to get up out of bed in search of my needles and wool and cast on a Moccasin Sock before January 1. The only thing that kept me from doing so is the pile of Christmas knitting I still have to finish.

Not feeling sleepy yet, (I have the hardest time falling asleep without the Dear Husband next to me), I turned to The Opinionated Knitter. In that book EZ writes about the Woodsman’s Socks. I love how she starts out, “Directions for socks, timeless boosters of the male ego…” I laughed and made a mental note to see if socks boost the Dear Husband’s ego. If you have this book, you may want to check out the version of Woodsman’s Socks she has in there. EZ gives you  not only the thicker gauge version found in Knitting Around, but a thinner gauge, more appropriate for shoe wearing. I will be knitting the version found in Knitting Around.

At last I put the books aside and fell asleep curled up against a mound of pillows only to be awoken at 3:30 am by the Dear Husband crawling into bed, having just finished his paper, and then again at 6:30 am by a hungry little baby. Ah, well, better sleep tonight…. I hope.

PS: Can’t believe the response for the Ravelry Group — there are 119 of you! Wow! We are going to have so much fun knitting together. I have an email into Schoolhouse Press to see if they sell Moccasin Socks or the Woodsman’s Socks as single patterns. If so, that might help some of you who don’t have the book yet… I’ll let you know what they say.

One Response

  1. I’ve read through the chapter on the moc socks. FUN! I don’t quite understand the sole of the sock, but I’ll work with my LYS knitting guru to understand that better. You are the age of my oldest daughter, so now you seem closer to me. 🙂 I think I’ll be making muk-luks using the moc socks as a guide. I have my yarn and will knit using magic loop and two at a time. Can’t wait to see your finished results.

    Cjo

Leave a Reply

