Breakdown of the Thockies

Thockie Cuff with "Jaunty Stripe"

How are you all doing? A little confused? Let’s see if I can help by breaking down the “Thockie” or Moccasin Sock step by step.(Again, this is EZ’s wonderful refootable sock in Knitting Around.)

Step 1: Cast on your stitches, using your DPs, and knit in 2×2 rib for your wanted length. You can knit the cuff as short as as long as you want. Keep in mind that if you are going to make the cuff longer than mid calf (knee high for example) you will need to cast on more stitches than EZ calls for, do some calf shaping and finally get down to the original number of sts called for. Remember to insert some jaunty stripes if you want to!

"Heel" sts

Step 2: Place first 3 and last 3 sts of round on a piece of wool. I choose to bind off my heel sts due to the fact that I didn’t want to have to deal with any live stitches if I ever needed to reshod the sole of my Thockie!

Decreasing for the top of foot

Step 3: Now you begin working back in forth (in rows not rounds) on the remaining sts, decreasing at the beginning of the row and end of the row only on the right sides until you have 22 sts. Note — you will maintain the 2×2 rib. Looking lovely, isn’t it?

Top of the foot

Step 4: Maintaining the 2×2 rib, knit until 2.5″ shy of the total length of your foot. Measure your piece of work from the 6 heel sts on a piece of wool ( or bound off) to your needles. Measure your foot from your heel to your toe.

Top of toe shaping

Step 5: Working in stockinette, shape the top of the toe.

The Sole of the Thockie

Step 6: Using the yarn you want to use for the sole of your sock and the strengthening material, pick up 1 st in each of the slipped stitch along the edge of the “foot topper”, knit across the 6 “heel” stitches, pick up 1 st for each of the slipped stitch along other side of “foot topper, knit across 8 toe stitches. Congratulations! You now have the beginning of the refootable sole!

The heel

Step 7: Now that you have all the sole stitches on your 16″ circular needle, you will work back and forth on the heel stitches. EZ gives you grand instructions at this point – do exactly as she says!

The Sole

Step 7: Knit the sole, working the toe shaping as EZ prescribes.

Step 8: Gather and graft sole stitches together down the center. Yep! Lots of Kitchener stitching. I didn’t like this part very well. I’m looking forward to trying the pinwheel version!

The Thockie

And now, dear knitters, the result is a perfectly rustic sock that is completely refootable! Isn’t it lovely?

I’m almost done with my second Thockie, thus completely my first pair. However, laundry, house cleaning, and a lovely visit from my sister and mom prevented me from working on the second Thockie. So, I shall now sign off and go knit! Hope all is well with you!

Happy Knitting!

2 Responses

  1. I’ve been looking at this toe decrease. The knit 2 tog. look lovely. the slip-slip-knit look ucky!!! Did I do something wrong or is this just the way it is?

  2. Thanks so much for this blog. I’m very interested in knitting socks and have recently immersed myself in the activity. I watched the Knitting Around video last night and read the related book, and still didn’t understand how to make a larger sock. Thanks so very much.

    gbh

Leave a Reply

