Breakdown of the Pinwheel Moccasin Sock

Ah, the pinwheel variation. I had great hopes for this variation as I cast on the necessary stitches. I had hated the long line of Kitchener stitch that was mandatory to finish the Moccasin Socks and was looking forward to avoiding it with this variation.

As I cast on for the cuff, I turned to the page in Knitting Around that describes the pinwheel variation. “Work around on all stitches…” it calmly states. I stared at the page. Right. Um. At what point to do I ‘work around on all stitches?’ Where does the pinwheel variation begin? AHHHHHHH….

Did any of you fellow knitters suffer from this blank moment?

‘Calm down. Think it through.” I told myself. Then it hit me like a wave. The pinwheel variation picks up after the cuff, top of foot, toe and heel are worked. At that point you can jump into “Work around on all stitches….” I breathed a sigh of relief, shut the book, and worked away until I got to that point.

So, here is a breakdown of the Pinwheel Variation — I am assuming you have worked the cuff, top of foot, toe and heel according to the instructions given for the Moccasin Sock.

Ready to begin the Pinwheel Variation

Here we are, ready to work the Pinwheel variation. The toe has been worked, the heel has been worked and I have picked up the necessary stitches down the sides of the top of the sock.

Center 12 - 14 stitches marked

Step 1: Work around on all stitches (toe, heel & sides stitches) for 5 – 6 rounds. I worked 6 rounds.

Step 2: Mark 12 to 14 stitches centered below the heel. I marked 14.

Working down to the toe

Step 3: Slip 1, work to last marked stitch ssk with next stitch on needle. Turn. Slip 1, purl to last marked stitch, p2 tog with next stitch on needle. Repeat until you have worked your way up the sock and are 4″ away from the toe.

The Pinwheel

Step 4: The Pinwheel — ah, isn’t it lovely? No Kitchener stitch at all! I loved working the pinwheel. Follow the directions as written in Knitting Around. Although, I will say this: EZ says to decrease in each segment every 2nd round. I did that and found I had a pointed tent for the ball of my food. I ripped and decreased every 2nd round 5 times and then decreased every round. It came out much flatter.

I have begun to make pencil notes in my book. Keeping track of the slight modifications I make.

I’ve cast on for the second pinwheel sock. I feel like I’ve hit smooth headwinds and am sailing on through. But…. the Woodsman’s Thick Socks are around the corner and they’re different!

One Response

  1. My question exactly–at what point do you start the pinwheel version? You say “after the toe and heel have been worked.” Do you mean RIGHT AFTER you have worked the heel down to half the number of cast on stitches; at “the heel is now shaped, and you continue with the moccasin.”
    Or do you mean AFTER where it says, “Knit around on all stitches for about 1″.” and “TOE SHAPING: across the toe of the sock, work SSK…(about 11-13 decreases)…” etc. There are 2 decreases for toe shaping at this point, one at 1 inch and another 1/2 inch later.
    I think you mean the 1st, but I’m not sure.
    Thanks, Shannon

Leave a Reply

