A Bit Better Now…

Woodsman's Sock - 2 color variation

Ahh… the Woodsman’s Sock – 2 color variation is going much better now. I think I was having so much trouble knitting it because I was trying to snatch some knitting times during the day. That just doesn’t work for this pattern. I had at least 10 rounds to rip out last night when I got a chance to look at the sock properly. Take care of a wee baby and knitting a complicated sock without a proper pattern just doesn’t go together. I’ve vowed to work on it only at night when I can concentrate on it fully.

Woodsman's Sock - 2 color variation

Here is how I’m fudging this pattern:

  1. I made charts from the pictures. You can make simple color charts in Excel and then print them out.
  2. I found yarn in my stash that is the same gauge as the Wearable Art Stockings.
  3. I cast on following the Wearable Art Stockings pattern in Knitting Around. I am continuing to follow the Wearable Art Stocking pattern, inserting the charts I made, until I get to the Foot Shaping for the Wearable Art Stocking.
  4. Rather than working the Foot Shaping for the Wearable Art Stockings, I’ll follow the instructions for the Woodsman’s Heel Flap, Gussets and Toe shaping.

Now, you might say, “But the numbers are off and I can’t follow the Woodsman’s Heel, Gussets and Toe exactly.” You are right, what you must do is follow the principle.

The heel is worked over exactly half of the stitches. By the time we get to the heel we will have 58 stitches on the Woodsman 2 color Variation, work the heel stitches on half of 58 (which is 29).

To turn the heel you work to the middle of those 29 stitches (roughly 15) and begin the heel turn.

To shape the gussets you will pick up stitches along one side of the heel flap, knit across the top of the foot in the cross country 2-color pattern, pick up stitches along the other side of the heel flap, and, voila, you are back at the heel stitches.

You will decrease those gusset stitches just as you did for the original Woodsman, only this time you will decrease until you have 58 stitches on your needles.

For the toe you will work the Woodsman’s toe exactly as EZ wrote it.

So you see, there isn’t much fudging at all. There really is a pattern written for us in the book, we just have to use our brains to make it! And after all, wouldn’t EZ be proud of us — that we’re using our brains to knit something beautiful?

One Response

  1. Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

