One down…

Hooray! I finished one of the Woodsman’s Variation Socks on Saturday. It took me a week to complete, mainly because I had to relegate this project to night-time knitting only. When I finished it on Saturday I rewarded myself with this.

My version is a little bit bigger than those in Knitting Around. Why? Well, mainly because I had to use yarn in my stash rather than yarn I had tried to order.

To make a long story short, the mill , Cottage Craft Woollens, I ordered my yarn from has customer service problems. It took a month to get my first order from them and that was only after calling them several time on the phone.

The order of yarn for the Woodsman’s 2-color Variation socks never came through. I tried calling but was rebuffed once with, “I’ll check on your order tomorrow. I’m in the car. I’m trying to start another business.” The next three times I tried calling they never answered and the answering machine was full, thus I could not leave a message. They didn’t answer their email. Finally I messaged them through Ravelry but never got a response. Thus, through Ravelry, I canceled my order. As of yet I have not had a response regarding my order or my cancellation.

I was really fustrated. The yarn they sold was perfect for the Art Socks and the Woodsman’s 2 color variation. But there was no way of getting it in time.BTW – this order I had placed ON THE PHONE with them and had double checked that it was in stock.

Apparently I’m not alone in my troubles with this mill. On their Ravelry group several people have said it took 3 to 4 months to get their order. So… if you want to order from this mill… be aware, it may take forever.

This is in contrast to an order I placed with Juniper Moon Fiber Farm — I received my order in 4 days! Amazing service! But more on that yarn later…

6 Responses

  1. beautiful!

    (nice to know i’m not the only one decorating her wall with a bulletin board full of swatches!)

    • Thanks! Me too — I’m glad I’m not the only one who displays swatches! Happy Knitting!

  2. They are so beauteful! I do understand how frustrating it must have been to not get the ordered yarn in time, but they looks so great as it turned out.

    • thanks Lena!

  3. Gorgeous sock – the next one will go much faster. I have to knit at night too – hard to do Zimmerman math with kids running around needing things. It’s a good winding down activity. Even on the worst day, you know you got some good knitting in.

    • you are so right!

Leave a Reply

