Pi R Square Shawl

It’s hard not to think or talk about anything else but Little Laura – but I suppose I must.

(BTW: Laura is still in ICU, struggling with breathing and maintaining oxygen levels on her own. However, as of Sunday afternoon she was doing better!)

I finished my monster of a Pi R Square shawl! I think the reason I considered it a monster was because I choose Icelandic Roving as my fiber. I don’t think I would do that again. After awhile I got really bored with it – it was too hairy.

Also I choose to begin the project using 1 strand of Icelandic Roving and #5 needles! Oh, my… that took forever.

By the time I got to 48 rows I decided to graduate my needles up to a #9, therefore my bottom 48 rows creates more of a ruffle. I actually rather like that.

I learned a lot about simple shawl shaping while I knit this… and my imagination ran wild with variations.

But, on the whole… I’m glad I’m moving on to the next project…. The Norwegian Sweater!

2 Responses

  1. Very beautiful!! The color is gorgeous!

  2. The shawl is beautiful! I really like how it turned out with the changing of needle size, etc. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

