One Year On

One year ago, at the stroke of midnight, I began this crazy quest of knitting my way through Knitting Around. I was blissfully optimistic to think I could knit everything in a year. Well, I could have if life hadn’t gotten in the way.

I’m sitting here tonight, a glass of sherry in hand, the fire is almost out. The mitered mitten in my lap is halfway done. I have learned a lot this year – a lot about life (how you can, indeed, make your way through tough times) – and a lot about knitting (how simple things can be turned to exquisite things by one or two small details).  But I find myself shaking my head at my blissfully naive self – that self that was so excited to start a new year 12 months ago. I am on the precipice of a new year in 45 minutes and I find myself a bit wary, a bit leery of starting, a bit afraid of what the new year holds.

But, as Elizabeth Zimmermann said, “Knit on, with confidence and hope…”

So here I go… knitting on, with confidence and perhaps just a mustard seed of hope.

 

2 Responses

  1. I wish you a wonderful, or at least a much better new year! Wors can just be better, can’t it?

    It’s for sure, now and then the life get in ones way and everything will be upside down for a while. I know, got my cancer diagnose some months ago, after starting the year in confidense of being just as strong and healthy as always. Byt shit happendes! It’s just to keep on knitting and make the best of the situation til it turns into a better direction again. Because it will, no doubt about that, the question is when.

    Take good care of yourself!

  2. Happy New Year! Best wishes to you and your family, and for your knitting!

Leave a Reply

