I am knitting

I am…I am.

For some reason I have failed to take pictures of my Aran Coat progress. Is it because I dread this coming to an end? Perhaps… I still can’t believe this is the last project of the whole book. What a journey.

When the wool arrived in the shop I nearly jumped in the car right then and there, baby in tow. Instead, I was a good girl and waited until a more convenient day and went between John’s naps.

12 skeins of bulky weight wool looked like a 20 lb fleece. I nearly fell over when they brought the yarn out of the back room and gave it to me (I had to special order it). But then again, this is a coat.

So with my huge back of “fleece” I headed home to work on my gauge. This was a hard one. I would co and start with one gauge and then 3 inches into the coat notice that my gauge was entirely different – tighter in fact. Talk about frustration! This is one of those projects that I would most certainly recommend doing a watch cap out to check the gauge!

But… finally… at last… using a #11 needle and calculating my gauge at 3sts to the inch, I cast on!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

