Nearing the end

Confession: I completed the Aran coat two weeks ago. Yes, it’s been finished for awhile now. But I have found excuses not to blog about it. I was too busy… it wasn’t blocked… I need buttons.



I think I’ve been putting it off because, well, this is the last project. I am at the end. It’s almost finished.

I have really enjoyed this project. What a journey of life it has taken me through! Part of me wishes that my life hadn’t turned upside down halfway through this project because I know I have missed journaling many of the things that I have learned from EZ. However, deep down inside I am so thankful that I had this project during those hard times last year. It helped me focus on something else other than the troubles.

I have learned a new meaning to “Knit on, with confidence and hope through all crises.”

Anyways, I’m waxing sentimental on you… so sorry.

The coat is done. And boy, was it fun.

I didn’t do the hood – I”m just not a hood person. However, I love a stand up collar on a coat to shield me from the wind. So I did that instead.

The one thing that EZ doesn’t have in the instructions in Knitting Around for the Aran coat is some decreases in the body section around the armholes after you join the sleeves. I wish I had done that. It would have helped to set the sleeves in a bit. Otherwise, the pattern is fabulous! And quite fast because of the thick yarn and fat needles.

Now I am on the hunt for some buttons. I really want leather and wooden toggles… but where can I find them? I haven’t been able to find a place yet…. perhaps I will have to settle for wool loops and wooden buttons like EZ did on hers… but I’m going to keep looking…. so I’m not done yet! =)

 

 

3 Responses

  1. It’s beautiful. Congratulations, both on the coat and on finishing the project you set out to do, despite the rough year. It has been inspiring.

  2. Christina,
    You might find some nice buttons at Greencastle next month. Maybe even the ones you want. My gang from Ohio are coming over Thursday night and headed to the fiber fest on Friday. Hope we will see you.

  3. Hello Christina,

    Congratulations. It’s really a masterpiece.
    Greeting,
    Edna

Leave a Reply

